Pearl Izumi Men’s Elite Softshell Glove

My new favorite cold weather gloves.
imagesCASONKI5

The lightweight Pearl Izumi ELITE soft-shell bike gloves deliver excellent warmth and wind protection when cycling on cool days.
•Anatomic fit maximizes finger dexterity for shifting and braking
•ELITE soft-shell fabric on back of hands provides superior wind and water protection; fabric wicks moisture and stretches well
•Warm, light and nonbulky PrimaLoft® synthetic microfiber insulation delivers great warmth while expelling moisture and allowing high dexterity
•Extended gauntlet seals over jacket cuff for superior warmth
•On the palms, strategically placed gel pads absorb shock, relieving pressure on ulnar and median nerves
•Soft synthetic leather palms grip well and stand up to everyday wear
•Silicone screened fingertips add grip
•Soft windproof fabric on the thumb gives you a gentle place to wipe your nose
•Rip-and-stick? pull tabs on wrists close Pearl Izumi ELITE soft-shell bike gloves snugly and ease removal
•Gauntlet length cuffs to ensure good coverage over or under jackets
•Reflective detailing increases your visibility in low light

Have I mentioned how much I like Sierra Trading Post? I really, really like their products and prices.

For instance – the lovely gloves displayed above.

These things are WARM!!! I’ve had them out in 30 degree weather and below and my fingers stayed toasty. STP was only selling these in a size M mens, which is what I wear.

The fit is wonderful. However, if you have big fingers or larger hands, these may not be for you. I have an average sized hand and fingers, and they are perfect for me.

I really like the dexterity I have with these. Granted, I’m not sure I could text quickly with these on, but I can pick things up, move the fingers independently, and also use the whole hand very well. The silicone on the finger ends really aids with picking small things up off the ground and the Primaloft insulation helps keep you fantastically warm without the bulk of comparable gloves. Even if your hands heat up a little, the moisture is transferred out and you don’t wind up swimming in your own sweat.

The soft-shell fabric really does break the wind without letting it through to my hands. The only other gloves I’ve had that did this well, but were somewhat lighter weight, were my Gore windstopper gloves. The fabric stretches just enough to let the gloves be comfortable.

Another feature I like is the gauntlet-style wrists. They go up under your jacket, fasten nicely with Velcro, and keep the wind out and the warmth in. You can adjust them to whatever you want, comfort-wise, over the jacket cuffs or under them, and they work nicely.

Additionally, the gel inserts in the palm are right where I like them to be. They dampen the road vibe enough to be comfortable without bulk and keep your hand from going numb from sitting on the bars. The synthetic leather palm seems to be wearing okay for now – I haven’t noticed any pilling and scraping at this point. A similar fabric is on the palms of my Gore gloves and it has also stood up well to wear and abuse.

Other things about these gloves that I like:
The soft fabric to wipe the nose with is very nice and soft – haven’t had any stiffness there and still have a soft nose. 🙂
The reflective details are nice. I only wish there were a few more of them – the ones that are there are reflective, but a few more discreet ones could be added if the deisgners so chose. The colors are also quiet – not loud – I like this, but others may feel that bright colors lend some safety value to the gloves.

Overall – excellent gloves for the money. I have been wearing them as everyday gloves too – and they are really showing me that quality products are worth what you pay.

Bottom line – if you want warm hands in really cold weather and you cycle through the winter – buy these. If you are a fair weather cyclist, these are too much glove for the temps you’ll be in; find something lighter and less expensive.

Leave a Reply

